Skip to content

This Journey has Only Just Begun…

January 13, 2013

betaclassroom

See life’s a beautiful struggle, I record it / Hope it helps you maneuvering through yours

            Last summer, the voices of teachers kicked down doors. From now on, you’ll need a teacher on board if you want to be taken seriously in the education innovation industry. This is an accomplishment, but not the ultimate victory for teachers who are on a mission to bridge the digital divide. Our accomplishments thus far are a fantastic starting point, and we should be proud of how far we’ve come.

Now, this is my job, I will not quit it / Pulled me out the depths when I thought that I was finished / Yeah I questioned if I could go the distance…

            By the end of the summer, I seriously considered taking a sabbatical from teaching. But in the final round of interviews at an educational technology company, a maverick CEO inspired me to take the time I needed to figure out what I really wanted. Here’s the note I sent myself after that meeting:

Note_To_Self

Note_To_Self

In September, I moved out to the bay area where I’d have the best opportunity to teach and build the fellowship at the same time. I had no job waiting for me, no apartment to live in, and no family. But a teacher on a mission won’t be satisfied, so I guess that’s the sacrifice…

I was meant to be a warrior / Fight something amongst me, leave here victorious…

Despite having no job, apartment or family out here, I moved to the bay area because of an idea that I could create a fellowship. This fellowship would enable educators to be involved in high level decision making and as leaders in shaping innovation and relevant policy. I am here because I want to transform the “teacher approved technology” credential from a stamp of approval into a powerful and permanent platform from which the collective voice of a movement will be heard and headed. So, I’d start by making a plan and an MVP.

Speaking with leaders in education field helped me flesh out a first draft vision of the fellowship, but I was paralyzed whenever I attempted to create a business model for it. Don’t get me wrong, when it comes to identifying potential revenue streams, I can make it rain. In this case, my paralysis came from wanting to teach and develop an MVP at the same time. Luckily, this powerhouse network of teachers helped me find the teaching position in which I’ve had the opportunity to teach, beta test, and create a working MVP model of the fellowship over the past two months.

Make the money, don’t let the money make you / Change the game, don’t let the game change you / I’ll forever remain faithful…

So the journey continues. Inspired and informed by the past, I look towards everyday between now and next summer’s first iteration of the fellowship. I look forward to first period with my students tomorrow and the “office hours” I’ll be holding with entrepreneurs on the Caltrain as I make my way to and from school. Lastly, I look forward to having the time to write down the thanks that I owe to each and every person who’ve helped me get this far.

Upcoming Posts:

New Opportunity & New Office Hours;

An incubator for best practices;

I-Ready and Rosetta Stone, Meet me at camera 3!

3 Comments

Post a comment
  1. January 14, 2013

    Love it. Look forward to where the journey takes you!

    • January 14, 2013

      You say that as if you won’t be taking it with me. ; ) I’ll be looking to you for direction and can’t wait for our next chat!

Leave a Reply

