Skip to content

Technology For Testing & First Team Mission!

September 1, 2011

betaclassroom

MEETINGS

  • Associate Partner, NewSchools Venture Fund,
  • Communications Strategist with over a decade of experience in education innovation (NewSchools Venture Fund) and tech journalism (Red Herring),
  • Brett Kopf, Co-Founder of Remind101,
  • Ben Berte, Socrative.

~Whew I’m tired!~

HIGHLIGHT’S FROM TODAY’S MEETINGS

+WE’VE GOT BETAs to TEST!

I GOT LEADS ON CURRENT AND FUTURE EDUCATIONAL TECHNOLOGY THAT IS IN NEED OF HIGH QUALITY FEEDBACK! YAY!

*** Those who have voiced their interest in providing feedback will be able to choose your first beta-technology to test in over the next four weeks.***

Whether they are tech-savvy, tech-curious, or tech-phobic, EVERY teacher can be a member of Team Beta Classroom. There’s got to be others out there who want this opportunity! How can we let them know about joining Team Beta Classroom? -Listserves? Ning communities? Department Meeting Announcements? State Education Websites? Sky Writing? TELL THEM THEY CAN SIGN UP AT: betaclassroom.wordpress.com/teachers-wanted/

If you have ideas or already taking on this mission. PLEASE let me know! I want to tell everyone about the actions take, success you have or frustration you encounter. Contact me using the reply box below or emailing me at Betaclassroom@gmail.com.

REMINDER:

If you have not already completed “The Shape of What’s to Come” survey PLEASE do so! See reflection below for further inspiration. I will be analyzing the survey results and reporting back on the future dimensions in next post.

TEAM’S FIRST MISSION:

We have an opportunity to redefine the way technology is developed and distributed, but no chance in heck if we don’t increase the size of our team. Let’s show them that we’re not the only one’s who want technology for our classrooms! You can use the same post I made to edmodo (see blog post below) or come up with one of your own! If you have ideas or ready to take on our first mission. Please let us know what you do by either writing into the comment box below or emailing me at Betaclassroom@gmail.com

Day 2: Written Reflection:

“It is not difference which immobilizes us, but silence. And there are so many silences to be broken.” Audre Lorde

Being here and writing these words, is my attempt to break that silence. Too often I planned to someday to speak, or waited for someone else’s words.

We can no longer accept historically imposed separations between teachers and the field of ed. tech. as inevitable

Today I spoke with leaders in the field of educational technology. Every one of them shared a commitment to education, to the power of technology, and to reclaiming of a system which has been made to work against us.

The words of teachers and students are desperate to be heard, and the individuals I spoke with today, recognize their responsibility to seek those words out, to read them, share them and apply to the development of educational technology.

“What is most important to you must be spoken, made verbal and shared, even at the risk of having it bruised or misunderstood.” As we transform silence into language and action, we must learn to build and maintain ourselves and our community together-to recognize and solve our problems together. By staying silent, we rob ourselves of ourselves and each other.

“It is not our differences which immobilize us, but silence. And there are so many silences to be broken.”

7 Comments

Post a comment
  1. Shawn Storm #
    September 1, 2011

    I posted a message in Edmodo also and plan on tweeting a bit about it. I will also post in the Educator’s PLN. Put me at the top of the list for one of those chromebooks! 🙂

  2. crosbiematt #
    September 1, 2011

    Getting some more teachers involved.

  3. September 1, 2011

    I have a blog about using tech in the foreign language classroom http://mmetechie.blogspot.com I post to it fairly regularly about how I use technology in my classroom. I will try to involve some teachers in my district. Any chance for a classroom set of the chromebooks to do a trial with — much easier to compile data if I can use the tech with all students. I am very much looking forward to this program!

  4. September 6, 2011

    I will definitely post and tweet about it! I’m looking forward to those Chromebooks. And I’m with mmebrady, I would love a class set! 🙂

  5. September 6, 2011

    I will also post on my Linkedin groups and EduPLN!

  6. September 6, 2011

    And Google +! Last one! 🙂

  7. September 8, 2011

    I would be interested to know if Google is willing to have some sort of middle ground for their Google Apps program. My school does not support Google Apps as a whole, but I would like to with my classes. I tried to set up their accounts for them, but was blocked after just a few due to spam filters. I tried Google Apps, but I do not own my own domain. I was really hoping to use gmail as the default email for all of my students so they had a clean slate for school email, or at least for my class. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

